MIT Age Lab Disruptive Demographics

Syndicate content NYT
Caring and Coping
Updated: 5 weeks 2 days ago

A New Direction

Fri, 01/09/2015 - 16:27
The blog is ending, but our coverage of caregiving and aging is not. The New Old Age will run as a twice-monthly column by Paula Span on nytimes.com and frequently in Science Times.

Remembering the Lost

Wed, 01/07/2015 - 13:21
At many nursing homes and assisted living places, a resident's passing may be hardly noted.

The Future, Revisited

Mon, 12/29/2014 - 06:00
Circumstances had changed, and all these documents needed to change, too.

Diabetes Prevention That Works

Fri, 12/26/2014 - 16:22
Lifestyle modification prevents Type 2 diabetes even more effectively in the elderly than in middle-aged patients.

Dementia, but Prettier

Fri, 12/19/2014 - 13:06
Julianne Moore gives a wonderful performance in "Still Alice," but the film skirts the truth about dementia.

Questionable Remedies for Eye Disease

Wed, 12/17/2014 - 14:35
Supplements claiming to prevent age-related macular degeneration often don't contain enough, or any, of the ingredients shown to help, a researcher warns.

U.S. Health Care Lags Worldwide for Those Over 65

Fri, 12/12/2014 - 10:41
The United States still has mortifying lapses and problems, despite spending more on health care than any country in the world, a new Commonwealth Fund report reveals.

Unmet Needs Continue to Pile Up

Tue, 12/09/2014 - 17:48
When someone is spending $3,500 or more a month for assisted living, are there fewer activities the resident can’t manage?

A Focus on the Heart for Older Patients

Thu, 12/04/2014 - 14:45
The first geriatric cardiology clinic in New York opened at N.Y.U. Langone Medical Center in August. It’s different.

Part D for Drug Coverage — and Drudgery

Mon, 12/01/2014 - 18:21
Like doing our taxes, signing up for Medicare Part D, the insurance program for drug coverage, takes days out of our lives and leaves us sitting in a heap of papers with a splitting headache.

Aggressive Neighbors in the Nursing Home

Tue, 11/25/2014 - 13:55
One in five nursing home residents was involved in mistreatment of a neighbor in the previous month, a new study found.

An Easier Death, and Less Costly, Too

Thu, 11/20/2014 - 16:08
Saving money isn't really the point of hospice care. Still, a new study found that cancer patients in hospice incurred lower costs in the last year of life than those not in hospice.

Seeing the ‘Invisible Patient’

Mon, 11/17/2014 - 14:51
Physicians too often fail to address the needs of caregivers, a clinical review finds.

Dreaming of the Departed

Fri, 11/14/2014 - 12:33
Nighttime visitations from lost family members are not uncommon among caregivers.

Spouses Denied Social Security Survivors’ Benefits

Tue, 11/11/2014 - 12:49
Social Security will not pay benefits to same-sex spouses in states where their marriage is not recognized.

Hello, Green Man

Fri, 11/07/2014 - 14:47
Some older people with impaired vision begin to see people and objects that aren't there. It's not dementia, but a condition called Charles Bonnet Syndrome.

A New Face on the End-of-Life Debate

Wed, 11/05/2014 - 14:28
The death of Brittany Maynard may reinvigorate discussions over aid-in-dying policies.

A Rise in Falls

Sun, 11/02/2014 - 12:01
The number of falls is expected to rise among the elderly, The Times reports.

A Workout for the Mind

Thu, 10/30/2014 - 12:25
Improved perceptions of aging can lead to increases in physical strength, an unusual study finds.

Insomniac, but Not Sleep-Deprived

Mon, 10/27/2014 - 13:55
Some older people with insomnia may be getting more sleep than they think, a new study has found.