NYTimes New Old Age Blog

Syndicate content NYT
Caring and Coping
Updated: 5 hours 4 min ago

When Death Approaches Again

Thu, 10/23/2014 - 16:27
Survivors of the Holocaust pose special challenges for caregivers at the end of life.

Is It Really Dementia?

Tue, 10/21/2014 - 13:22
A number of conditions cause dementia-like symptoms, and doctors may have trouble diagnosing them. Still, the odds usually are low that an elderly family member can be made cognitively normal.

A Doctor Discovers Dying

Fri, 10/17/2014 - 11:44
In his new book, "Being Mortal," Dr. Atul Gawande acknowledges paying scant attention to end-of-life issues.

Treating C.O.P.D. in the Elderly

Mon, 10/13/2014 - 05:00
Older patients with chronic obstructive pulmonary disease may benefit from taking two drugs, not just one, a new study finds.

A Leap in Lifespans

Fri, 10/10/2014 - 13:19
We're living longer than ever, but not always better.

In Nursing Homes, Eyes That Never Turn Away

Wed, 10/08/2014 - 12:53
More family members debate whether to install video cameras in the rooms of nursing home patients.

Extra Scrutiny for Hospices

Mon, 10/06/2014 - 17:33
New legislation will bring greater federal oversight to hospice programs across the country.

Some Good News on Pneumonia

Thu, 10/02/2014 - 12:00
New vaccine recommendations should bolster protection against pneumonia, which sickens three million to four million American adults a year. Hospitals also appear to be doing a better job in treating patients.

An End-of-Life Nightmare

Fri, 09/26/2014 - 09:24
Joseph Andrey, 91, wanted to die at home. As is often the case, he died in a hospital instead.

Study Links Anxiety Drugs to Alzheimer’s Disease

Wed, 09/24/2014 - 05:00
Alzheimer's occurs more often among older people who have used benzodiazepines for long periods, researchers report.

Donating the Body

Thu, 09/18/2014 - 15:58
He wanted his body given to a medical school or research organization. It wasn't that simple.

On New Measurements of Aging

Tue, 09/16/2014 - 14:43
Warren Sanderson, a professor of social and behavioral sciences at Stony Brook University, is working on ways to define aging other than the passing of years. "Everything is changing about 65-year-olds," he said.

Tougher Than They Look

Fri, 09/12/2014 - 16:34
Researchers have written for years about resilience in the elderly. Now they're trying to measure it.

In the Emergency Room, a Hidden Ailment

Thu, 09/11/2014 - 14:31
A small study found that many elderly patients turning up in one emergency room were malnourished.

Near Death, and Overmedicated

Tue, 09/09/2014 - 05:00
Why are patients with advanced dementia so often receiving "medications of questionable benefit"?

A Picture of Dementia

Fri, 09/05/2014 - 15:48
A documentary airing on PBS provides a cleareyed account of one family's struggle with Alzheimer's disease.

A Better Flu Shot

Wed, 09/03/2014 - 15:41
A high-dose vaccine prevents older adults from catching the flu more effectively than the standard vaccine, researchers say.

Dizzying Times

Fri, 08/29/2014 - 14:33
I was unsympathetic when my mother complained of strange dizzy spells. Who’s sorry now?

How to Complain to Medicare

Thu, 08/28/2014 - 12:28
Revealed: the semi-secret phone numbers that beneficiaries are supposed to use to complain to Medicare.

Her Own Kind of Absence

Tue, 08/26/2014 - 12:36
What I'd thought was depression was really was something else.