Feed aggregator

Aggressive Neighbors in the Nursing Home

NYTimes New Old Age Blog - Tue, 11/25/2014 - 12:55
One in five nursing home residents was involved in mistreatment of a neighbor in the previous month, a new study found.

An Easier Death, and Less Costly, Too

NYTimes New Old Age Blog - Thu, 11/20/2014 - 15:08
Saving money isn't really the point of hospice care. Still, a new study found that cancer patients in hospice incurred lower costs in the last year of life than those not in hospice.

Seeing the ‘Invisible Patient’

NYTimes New Old Age Blog - Mon, 11/17/2014 - 13:51
Physicians too often fail to address the needs of caregivers, a clinical review finds.

Dreaming of the Departed

NYTimes New Old Age Blog - Fri, 11/14/2014 - 11:33
Nighttime visitations from lost family members are not uncommon among caregivers.

Spouses Denied Social Security Survivors’ Benefits

NYTimes New Old Age Blog - Tue, 11/11/2014 - 11:49
Social Security will not pay benefits to same-sex spouses in states where their marriage is not recognized.

Hello, Green Man

NYTimes New Old Age Blog - Fri, 11/07/2014 - 13:47
Some older people with impaired vision begin to see people and objects that aren't there. It's not dementia, but a condition called Charles Bonnet Syndrome.

A New Face on the End-of-Life Debate

NYTimes New Old Age Blog - Wed, 11/05/2014 - 13:28
The death of Brittany Maynard may reinvigorate discussions over aid-in-dying policies.

A Rise in Falls

NYTimes New Old Age Blog - Sun, 11/02/2014 - 11:01
The number of falls is expected to rise among the elderly, The Times reports.

A Workout for the Mind

NYTimes New Old Age Blog - Thu, 10/30/2014 - 11:25
Improved perceptions of aging can lead to increases in physical strength, an unusual study finds.

Insomniac, but Not Sleep-Deprived

NYTimes New Old Age Blog - Mon, 10/27/2014 - 12:55
Some older people with insomnia may be getting more sleep than they think, a new study has found.

When Death Approaches Again

NYTimes New Old Age Blog - Thu, 10/23/2014 - 15:27
Survivors of the Holocaust pose special challenges for caregivers at the end of life.

Is It Really Dementia?

NYTimes New Old Age Blog - Tue, 10/21/2014 - 12:22
A number of conditions cause dementia-like symptoms, and doctors may have trouble diagnosing them. Still, the odds usually are low that an elderly family member can be made cognitively normal.

A Doctor Discovers Dying

NYTimes New Old Age Blog - Fri, 10/17/2014 - 10:44
In his new book, "Being Mortal," Dr. Atul Gawande acknowledges paying scant attention to end-of-life issues.

Treating C.O.P.D. in the Elderly

NYTimes New Old Age Blog - Mon, 10/13/2014 - 04:00
Older patients with chronic obstructive pulmonary disease may benefit from taking two drugs, not just one, a new study finds.

A Leap in Lifespans

NYTimes New Old Age Blog - Fri, 10/10/2014 - 12:19
We're living longer than ever, but not always better.

In Nursing Homes, Eyes That Never Turn Away

NYTimes New Old Age Blog - Wed, 10/08/2014 - 11:53
More family members debate whether to install video cameras in the rooms of nursing home patients.

Extra Scrutiny for Hospices

NYTimes New Old Age Blog - Mon, 10/06/2014 - 16:33
New legislation will bring greater federal oversight to hospice programs across the country.

Some Good News on Pneumonia

NYTimes New Old Age Blog - Thu, 10/02/2014 - 11:00
New vaccine recommendations should bolster protection against pneumonia, which sickens three million to four million American adults a year. Hospitals also appear to be doing a better job in treating patients.

An End-of-Life Nightmare

NYTimes New Old Age Blog - Fri, 09/26/2014 - 08:24
Joseph Andrey, 91, wanted to die at home. As is often the case, he died in a hospital instead.

Study Links Anxiety Drugs to Alzheimer’s Disease

NYTimes New Old Age Blog - Wed, 09/24/2014 - 04:00
Alzheimer's occurs more often among older people who have used benzodiazepines for long periods, researchers report.
Syndicate content