External Blogs

When Death Approaches Again

MIT Age Lab Disruptive Demographics - Thu, 10/23/2014 - 16:27
Survivors of the Holocaust pose special challenges for caregivers at the end of life.

Is It Really Dementia?

MIT Age Lab Disruptive Demographics - Tue, 10/21/2014 - 13:22
A number of conditions cause dementia-like symptoms, and doctors may have trouble diagnosing them. Still, the odds usually are low that an elderly family member can be made cognitively normal.

A Doctor Discovers Dying

MIT Age Lab Disruptive Demographics - Fri, 10/17/2014 - 11:44
In his new book, "Being Mortal," Dr. Atul Gawande acknowledges paying scant attention to end-of-life issues.

Treating C.O.P.D. in the Elderly

MIT Age Lab Disruptive Demographics - Mon, 10/13/2014 - 05:00
Older patients with chronic obstructive pulmonary disease may benefit from taking two drugs, not just one, a new study finds.

A Leap in Lifespans

MIT Age Lab Disruptive Demographics - Fri, 10/10/2014 - 13:19
We're living longer than ever, but not always better.

In Nursing Homes, Eyes That Never Turn Away

MIT Age Lab Disruptive Demographics - Wed, 10/08/2014 - 12:53
More family members debate whether to install video cameras in the rooms of nursing home patients.

Extra Scrutiny for Hospices

MIT Age Lab Disruptive Demographics - Mon, 10/06/2014 - 17:33
New legislation will bring greater federal oversight to hospice programs across the country.

Some Good News on Pneumonia

MIT Age Lab Disruptive Demographics - Thu, 10/02/2014 - 12:00
New vaccine recommendations should bolster protection against pneumonia, which sickens three million to four million American adults a year. Hospitals also appear to be doing a better job in treating patients.

An End-of-Life Nightmare

MIT Age Lab Disruptive Demographics - Fri, 09/26/2014 - 09:24
Joseph Andrey, 91, wanted to die at home. As is often the case, he died in a hospital instead.

Study Links Anxiety Drugs to Alzheimer’s Disease

MIT Age Lab Disruptive Demographics - Wed, 09/24/2014 - 05:00
Alzheimer's occurs more often among older people who have used benzodiazepines for long periods, researchers report.

Wed, 12/31/1969 - 20:00
Syndicate content