External Blogs

‘You Can Do It, Shirley’

NYTimes New Old Age Blog - Sat, 06/21/2014 - 12:10
The fitness trainer: 44 years old. The client: 90.

Hypoglycemia Rising in Older People With Diabetes

NYTimes New Old Age Blog - Thu, 06/19/2014 - 05:00
Often low blood sugar, not raised levels, is the more pressing problem among elderly patients with diabetes.

How to Choose a Hospice

NYTimes New Old Age Blog - Tue, 06/17/2014 - 13:43
The president of the American Hospice Foundation offers some questions to ask when selecting hospice care.

An Alert When the Policy Lapses

NYTimes New Old Age Blog - Thu, 06/12/2014 - 12:42
Virginia will require that insurance companies notify designated third parties when a long-term care policy lapses.

Sex in Assisted Living: Intimacy Without Privacy

NYTimes New Old Age Blog - Tue, 06/10/2014 - 13:00
Assisted living facilities are just beginning to grapple with the questions raised by intimate relations among residents, including those with cognitive impairment.

Moving On by Moving Around

NYTimes New Old Age Blog - Thu, 06/05/2014 - 12:14
After her husband died, I urged her to move from the house. Instead she rearranged the furniture.

Living on Purpose

NYTimes New Old Age Blog - Tue, 06/03/2014 - 05:00
A sense of purpose helps sustain people in old age, new studies show.

Walking to Age Well

NYTimes New Old Age Blog - Tue, 05/27/2014 - 16:25
We all know that exercise is good for us, regardless of age. Now a new study, one of the largest and most rigorous to date, proves it.

She Wasn’t So Ungrateful After All

NYTimes New Old Age Blog - Tue, 05/27/2014 - 05:00
My mother's essay in this blog drew outrage and a bit of sympathy for her children. Here's the rest of the story.

Geriatricians: Beware ‘Liquid Candy’

NYTimes New Old Age Blog - Thu, 05/22/2014 - 13:23
Doctors who care for older patients see little use for popular nutritional drinks marketed to seniors.

Do Not Resuscitate: What Young Doctors Would Choose

NYTimes New Old Age Blog - Tue, 05/20/2014 - 15:02
A survey of young doctors finds that they overwhelmingly would not choose heroic resuscitation measures if they had a terminal illness.

When Shingles Is Just the Beginning

NYTimes New Old Age Blog - Fri, 05/16/2014 - 15:20
A new study links shingles to a higher risk of stroke.

They’ve Deleted Their ‘Spacebook’ Profiles

NYTimes New Old Age Blog - Mon, 05/12/2014 - 16:24
A new documentary describes a program in Toronto that links teenage tutors to seniors who need computer lessons.

A Conversation With Roz Chast

NYTimes New Old Age Blog - Tue, 05/06/2014 - 12:30
The New Yorker cartoonist has written a sort of graphic memoir about caring for her ailing parents.

A New Benefit for Heart Failure Patients

NYTimes New Old Age Blog - Fri, 05/02/2014 - 17:17
Medicare now pays for cardiac rehabilitation for heart failure patients. But will they use it?

Wed, 12/31/1969 - 20:00
Syndicate content